Front Parachute Cables

Time: 1hr

Installed the parachute cables that attache to the firewall via a large bracket. I felt the recommended AN5-7 bolt was a little short for the outside bolt (the one that doesn’t go through the engine mount) so I increased it to an AN5-10 which seemed a bit better.

My engine mount holes didn’t line up very well with the holes in the firewall and it’s not a good idea to hammer in the bolts because it strips of the plating which will allow the bolt to corrode more easily. I came up with a quick way to put some pressure on the mount arms. This allowed me to slighting increase or decrease the spacing between the top engine mount holes.

So if I tighten the clamps the holes move a little further apart because it puts pressure on the engine mount arms. I was able to get the holes lined up pretty well, just a bit of upward pushing was also needed, but the bolts way almost all the way in and only need a few taps with the hammer to get them to seat.

Installed on both sides. Need to do the rear ones next, but the mounting hole need to be reamed for an AN6 bolt so waiting on the reamer.

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.