Brake Cylinders

Time: 1.25 hrs

Things done today:

  • Installed the 1/8″ MPT to -4AN 90deg fittings onto brake cylinders
  • Installed brake cylinders onto rudder pedal assembly

img_3196

Using -4AN fittings on the brake cylinders. The manual calls to use Loctite 577 which I found at Tooldex for around $20 for a 50ml tube. The -4AN fittings and hose (still on order) came from Summit Racing. I used a rubber tubing wrench to tighten the fitting onto the cylinders which seemed to work very well and it didn’t damage the aluminum fittings.

img_3197

Here are the fittings installed in the “correct” position I hope.

img_3198

Cylinders installed. I initially torqued the bolts to the correct torque settings, but noticed that nothing moved, so I backed off on the bolt torque until things loosened up a bit. I’ll have to double check with the factory, but I believe this is OK. I noticed in an older manual that they used to use castle nuts and cotter pins which I thought is what you need to use here, but the new manual and hardware are locking AN365 type nuts.

img_3199

Just wrapped the fitting ends with some plastic wrap to keep dirt out.

img_3200

 

img_3201

All done and the pedals move very smoothly.

The stainless steel braided hoses with the -4AN fittings should be here in a week or so. Once that arrives I’ll have to cut and build the hoses to fit.

 

Leave a Reply

