Center console and front floor

Time: 8.25 hrs

Things done today:

  • Prepped front floor shut off skins (SKN-027 L&R)
  • Prepped control covers (SKN-023)
  • Primed center console parts and front door shutoff skins
  • Installed rivets for front floor shut off skins and control stick cover
  • Reamed main gear spar holes to 10mm
  • Riveted front floor and control stick box
  • Riveted under front seat floor parts
  • Clecoed console frame
  • Clecoed front floor shut off skins
  • Prepped and primed a few firewall parts

 

IMG_2493

I saw from the build logs that these holes are a bit undersized and need to be reamed out to 10mm. I think I bought the reamer on Amazon. On one side I could use my right angle electric drill, but on the side with the main spar I had to do it by hand (I probably could have removed the main spar since it’s not riveted yet)

 

IMG_2494

Both holes reamed to 10mm and the other side as well.

 

 

IMG_2496

Front floor riveted and the Z channel for the center console as well. I’m not riveting the rudder mounting plate (in the foreground) because I’ll probably be doing the pedals with the toe brakes. It’s at $1700 option, but I’m kind of leaning towards it rather then having the park next to the throttle up on the center console. I know it’s a bit more complicated and there’s more brake line plumbing involved, but I kind of like having toe brakes.

IMG_2497

The “under front seat” floor parts riveted. This isn’t shown in the manual.

IMG_2498

Center consol frame clecoed and ready to rivet. EDIT: The large support bracket (the one furthest to the front) is backwards in this picture, luckily I noticed it before I riveted everything.

Leave a Reply

