Front floor

Time: 5 hrs

Things done today:

  • Clecoed bottom floor channels to bottom floor skin (SKN-004)
  • Drilled out missing holes in bottom floor skin (SKN-004) to 3.2mm
  • Reamed holes in the Junction Stiffener Skins (SKN-007 L&R) to 4mm
  • Clecoed main spar to bottom floor skin (SKN-004)
  • Clecoed Ribs 2 L&R to bottom floor skin (SKN-004)
  • Test fit control sticks

IMG_2455

Looks like the hole in the middle of the photo needed to be drilled out to 3.2mm. Also there were two holes in the same part (SKN-007 L&R) that needed to be reamed out to 4mm since they shared a hole with the main spar.

IMG_2456

Front floor channels clecoed and ready to rivet. I ended up clecoing the top floor on to stiffen it up and make sure everything would line up ok. I decided to rivet this part first prior to attaching it to the main gear channel (as is stated in the manual) because I thought it would be easier to flip this smaller piece over to rivet. It seems to have worked out really well.

 

IMG_2457

Bottom floor riveted. I realized that I probably shouldn’t have riveted to outside channels yet. I will most likely have to drill those out because they probably share holes with the side skins.

IMG_2458

Now it looks like a big sled.

IMG_2460

IMG_2461

I put a grommet in the control bracket for wiring from the control stick. I think I’ll probably be needing a bigger grommet since I plan on putting quite a few things on the control stick… Elevator trim, PTT, AP disconnect, and Flaps up/down. I also still need to put insulation in the floor and prime the top floor panel before riveting it.

 

Leave a Reply

