Rear fuselage ribs and rib6 reinforcing plate

Time: 4.25 hrs

Finished riveting the tail cone section (ribs 6-9). Drilled out the holes for the rib6 reinforcing plate RF-PLT-021. I had to mark the hole from the from since I had already riveted rib 6 in place, but everything seemed to work out well. I will finish riveting it in the next few days since I have to wait for the primer to dry on rib 6 before riveting the plate on to it. Also did some riveting of the larger ribs (5, 4 and 3).

IMG_2401

I made a few holes with the plate in the correct position and then later had to move it to the opposite side to finished the rest of the holes since I wasn’t able to get the drill in between the rib and the plate for the rudder mount.

IMG_2402

Here’s the plate on the front side of rib 6, finished marking and drilling the rest of the holes. I just had to remember to keep the plate in the correct orientation so that the hole would line back up when I put it back on the other side of the rib. I suppose you could put the plate on this side as well, but it hit the pace below it so you’d probably need to cut off 1/8 to 1/4 of an inch from the bottom.

Leave a Reply

