VOR mounting plate and trim tab

Time: 2.0hrs

Fabricated the VOR mounting plate. I had purchase some T6 6061 0.81mm aluminum from Onlinemetals.com to use for the VOR mounting plate. The fabrication was pretty straight forward. I traced Rib 4 onto the aluminum sheet and then cut it with a Jigsaw. Then a lot of filing to get it to fit. I should have waited until I had made the plate to drill the main screw holes in the rib so that they would have lined up perfectly, instead they are a little off, but not too bad. I think it came out pretty good. I’m not much of a metal worker.

I will put some kind of strain relief for the RG400 cable that attaches to the antenna, but I’m not sure what I will do. Maybe I’ll make a simple bracket out of aluminum and put a grommet in it and rivet it to the rib/plate.

Next step is to rivet the plate to the rib and mount the VOR antenna to this assemble. Then I need to do the cut outs in the skin for the antenna elements.

IMG_1632

Here’s the mounting plate fit inside the rib. Need to rivet it next.

IMG_1631

Also worked on the Elevator trim tab. Riveted the piano hinge and control horn then filed and cleaned up some of the edges.

IMG_1634

 

Leave a Reply

